The evil hours : a biography of post-traumatic stress disorder
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.
Status
Central Library - Health and Fitness - 2nd Floor
616.8521 M
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Central Library - Health and Fitness - 2nd Floor616.8521 MOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

About the Author, Reviews, Awards, and More

More Details

Published
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.
Format
Book
Physical Desc
xii, 338 pages ; 24 cm.
Language
English

Notes

General Note
"An Eamon Dolan book."
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages 317-327) and index.
Description
"In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD. Just as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and '90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of the twenty-first century. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror," PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach extends far beyond the armed forces. In total, some twenty-seven million Americans are believed to be PTSD survivors. Yet to many of us, the disorder remains shrouded in mystery, secrecy, and shame.Now, David J. Morris -- a war correspondent, former Marine, and PTSD sufferer himself -- has written the essential account of this illness. Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time"--,Provided by publisher.

NoveList

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Morris, D. J. (2015). The evil hours: a biography of post-traumatic stress disorder . Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Morris, David J., 1971-. 2015. The Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-traumatic Stress Disorder. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Morris, David J., 1971-. The Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-traumatic Stress Disorder Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Morris, David J. The Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-traumatic Stress Disorder Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.