Letters to the lost : [a novel]
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2015.
Status
East Side Library - Romance - Adult
Grey, I.
1 available
Franklin Ave. Library - Romance - Adult
Grey, I.
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
East Side Library - Romance - AdultGrey, I.On Shelf
Franklin Ave. Library - Romance - AdultGrey, I.On Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

About the Author, Reviews, Awards, and More

More Details

Format
Book
Edition
First U.S. Edition.
Physical Desc
376 pages ; 25 cm.
Language
English

Notes

Description
"An accomplished novel from a talented writer, Letters to the Lost is a stunning, emotional love story. Iona Grey's prose is warm, evocative, and immediately engaging; her characters become so real you can't bear to let them go. I promised to love you forever, in a time when I didn't know if I'd live to see the start of another week. Now it looks like forever is finally running out. I never stopped loving you. I tried, for the sake of my own sanity, but I never even got close, and I never stopped hoping either. Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can't help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time. In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable attraction that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival are one in five. In the midst of such uncertainty, the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents. In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope--inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime--will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in this powerfully moving novel. "--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"An accomplished novel from a talented writer, Letters to the Lost is the kind of love story that will sweep you away from the very first page. Iona Grey's prose is warm, evocative, and immediately engaging; her characters become so real you can't bear to let them go. Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can't help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time. In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable love that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival at one in five. The odds are stacked against the pair; the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents. In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope--inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime--will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in a powerfully moving novel perfect for fans of Sarah Jio and Kate Morton"--,Provided by publisher.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Grey, I. (2015). Letters to the lost: [a novel] (First U.S. Edition.). Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Grey, Iona. 2015. Letters to the Lost: [a Novel]. New York: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Grey, Iona. Letters to the Lost: [a Novel] New York: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2015.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Grey, Iona. Letters to the Lost: [a Novel] First U.S. Edition., Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2015.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.