The sea elephants
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Flatiron Books, 2023.
Status
Central Library - New Fiction - New Books
Akella, S.
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Central Library - New Fiction - New BooksAkella, S.On Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

About the Author, Reviews, Awards, and More

More Details

Published
New York : Flatiron Books, 2023.
Format
Book
Physical Desc
377 pages ; 25 cm.
Language
English

Notes

Description
"For fans of Shuggie Bain and A Burning, a queer coming-of-age novel set in 1990s India, about a young man who joins a traveling theater troupe Shagun knows he will never be the kind of son his father demands. After the sudden deaths of his beloved twin sisters, Shagun flees his own guilt, his mother's grief, and his father's violent disapproval by enrolling at an all-boys boarding school. But he doesn't find true belonging until he encounters a traveling theater troupe performing the Hindu myths of his childhood. Welcomed by the other storytellers, Shagun thrives, easily embodying mortals and gods, men and women, and living on the road, where his father can't catch him. When Shagun meets Marc, a charming photographer, he seems to have found the love he always longed for, too. But not even Marc can save him from his lingering shame, nor his father's ever-present threat to send him to a conversion center. As Shagun's past begins to engulf him once again, he must decide if he is strong enough to face what he fears most, and to boldly claim his own happiness. Utterly immersive and spellbinding, The Sea Elephants is both dark and beautiful, harrowing and triumphant. An ode to the redemptive joys of art, Shastri Akella's debut novel is a celebration of hard-won love-of others and for ourselves"--,Provided by publisher.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Akella, S. (2023). The sea elephants (First edition.). Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Akella, Shastri. 2023. The Sea Elephants. Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Akella, Shastri. The Sea Elephants Flatiron Books, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Akella, Shastri. The Sea Elephants First edition., Flatiron Books, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.