Death's bright day
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Riverdale, NY : Baen Books, 2016.
Status
Franklin Ave. Library - Science Fiction & Fantasy - Adult
Drake, D.
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Franklin Ave. Library - Science Fiction & Fantasy - AdultDrake, D.On Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

About the Author, Reviews, Awards, and More

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
307 pages ; 23 cm.
Language
English

Notes

Description
"A NEW NOVEL IN THE NATIONALLY BEST-SELLING RCN MILITARY SF SERIES! Leary and Mundy are back in another military science fiction adventure as they undertake a mission to a distant but critical star system. IT'S JUST A REBELLION IN A DISTANT STAR CLUSTER. Captain Daniel Leary thinks that his marriage will allow him to slip into the quiet role of a naval officer in peacetime. His friend, the spy and cybrarian Adele Mundy, is content to be collating data in her library. But high officials of both superpowers are involved! Those who want Daniel and Adele to become involved in the Tarbell Stars claim that only they can prevent a war between the Republic of Cinnabar and its great rival, the Alliance of Free Stars. The conflict is political, but at the sharp end it means blazing warfare and cold-blooded murder. Daniel and Adele will be at the sharp end. The odds in ships and guns are badly in the enemy's favor. Daniel, Adele, and the crew of the Princess Cecile will do everything humanly possible, but that may not be enough against an enemy battleship. And even if Daniel and his companions succeed in battle, they can't be sure whether their employers really wanted them to win--or whether they even want them alive. All they can do is to race forward, hoping to come through into DEATH'S BRIGHT DAY. About David Drake's previous RCN novel, What Distant Deeps: "Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera." --Publishers Weekly About David Drake's RCN series: "[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera."--Publishers Weekly "The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!"--Philadelphia Weekly Press "[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along...character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs."--SFReader.com About David Drake: "[P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank...rivals Crane and Remarque..."--Chicago Sun-Times "Drake couldn't write a bad action scene at gunpoint."--Booklist RCN series: With the Lightnings Lt. Leary, Commanding The Far Side of the Stars The Way to Glory Some Golden Harbor When the Tide Rises In the Stormy Red Sky What Distant Deeps The Road of Danger The Sea Without a Shore Death's Bright Day"--,Provided by publisher.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Drake, D. (2016). Death's bright day . Baen Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Drake, David, 1945-. 2016. Death's Bright Day. Riverdale, NY: Baen Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Drake, David, 1945-. Death's Bright Day Riverdale, NY: Baen Books, 2016.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Drake, David. Death's Bright Day Baen Books, 2016.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.